covid19-lockdown-lp4y.JPG

 Statement 

The current situation, unprecedented and unpredictable, is one that requires us, like the rest of the world, to take exceptional measures.
The Youth and their families are the most affected by the consequences of this global health and economic crisis, that’s why we need your help today in order to support them.

After several weeks of confinement, the 39 LP4Y structures (Life Project Centers located in areas of extreme poverty, Green Villages, Little Angels Academies, Youth Hostels, Labs) are gradually resuming face-to-face activities.

 

Obviously, the situation is different in each of the 7 Asian countries in which LP4Y operates, so we are adapting our recovery plans to the specificities of the Youth concerned and to the local measures taken by governments.

 

But EVERYWHERE the goal is to MOBILIZE. It is imperative that all the Youth resume activities with their teammates and with the support of their coaches. More than ever, they need to prepare for the future and not just live day by day. Most of the centers have thus established shifts, allowing the Youth to visit the center an average of 5 afternoons per week in small groups in order to attend training sessions and receive active support in their job searches. The rest of their training continues via e-learning.

 

After more than two months under lockdown, the Youth need to take a fresh look at the commitments they made when they joined LP4Y. Rigor, professionalism, motivation, the will to make it; a multitude of values to which they must make a fresh commitment today. They have to understand that while they have faced very tense situations over the past few weeks, and problems that they overcame with the support of the LP4Y Catalysts, they now need to assume control. It is up to them to find solutions; it is up to them to actively commit, to identify and then seize the opportunities that will arise in these troubled circumstances.

 

The coronavirus will have repercussions in all areas of our lives, but economic tension will create the greatest challenges for the young adults we accompany. Where lockdown measures are still in place, shops and businesses may not open until the summer, and employers generally will be reluctant to hire. In short, while the health crisis is not yet over, the economic crisis has only just begun. It is imperative that the Youth supported and accompanied by LP4Y have all the odds on their side as they face the tumult of the months to come: limited access to essential items; high unemployment; dropping out of school; alarming health situation etc.

 

At present we are therefore carrying out substantive work in order to bring the reality of the Youth, their communities and the business world into line with the reality of the weeks, months and years to come. This requires us to adjust our model, which more than ever will be based on entrepreneurship, with the creation of new micro- economic initiatives to meet the very concrete needs of the communities in which the Youth live and allow them to pursue their training while simultaneously becoming the primary agents of change. Linked to this is the implementation of a new pedagogy, which, along the lines of the pedagogy already applied in Green Villages, will be shorter, denser but also more complete with stronger integration results.

 

At the same time, we continue the roll out of Digital Inc. This week marks the end of the test phase, during which feedback was collected from 38 young people from 7 countries in Asia. The deployment phase now provides for the integration of e-training within PTE (Professional Training for Entrepreneurs) in several pilot centers.

 

Our mission is now, more than ever, to create bridges between the decent world and the world of exclusion. It is time to reshuffle the cards and allow these amazing Youth to take their place. Together let us mobilize and prepare the Youth; together, that means hand in hand with companies, international organizations, government authorities, in Europe, America, Asia. Everywhere and everybody, we must gather our energy and pool our strengths to face the many challenges that lie ahead.

 

But of course this isn’t news to you, since so many of you joined us in May for the online information meetings led by the LP4Y teams in Europe. In total, almost 300 of you connected! Thank you all for joining us, thank you all for following the incredible journeys of all these Youth.

 

Together, Youth, Catalysts, partners, let's make change happen.

HOW CAN YOU SUPPORT US?

Many of you have expressed the desire to support our action. And thanks to the thoughtful and generous initiatives launched by the LP4Y teams in France, Belgium, Luxembourg, the United Kingdom and the United States, we have been able to start funding our response to this crisis (increased allowances, general price increase, investment in LP4Y Digital projects). However, the crisis is not yet over and above all we must now prepare for what comes next. We know how busy the coming months will be and that our usual sources of funding might be compromised.

But above all we need you to show interest! The inclusion that lies at the heart of our mission has never just been about economics. It is a question of increasing the visibility of the Youth, of showing that they exist, despite the fact that many of them do not actually exist on paper. To escape exclusion, it is not enough to find a decent job; the Youth can only be considered fully included on the day their word counts. So please take the time to read the Youth’s testimonies in LP4Y Stories. Share them and talk about the LP4Y movement to those around you!

Thank you for your support.

#STRONGERTOGETHER

Previous communications

Statement - 17th March 2020

Statement - 23rd March 2020

Statement - 3rd April 2020

Statement - 30th April 2020

Life Project 4 Youth Alliance is a federation of 19 organizations in 14 countries whose mission is the development of innovative solutions for the professional and social inclusion of Young people (15-24 yo) from extreme poverty and victims of exclusion. 

LP4Y supports the decent inclusion of thousands of Young people and their families in 41 programs, 20 Life Project Centers, 4 Little Angel Academies, 3 Green Villages, 4 Youth hostels, 2 LP4Y Labs in South East Asia, South Asia, Middle East, Europe and America.

LP4Y Alliance

Belgium

Bangladesh

UK

France

India

Indonesia

Lebanon

Luxembourg

Myanmar

Nepal

Philippines

USA

Vietnam

menu

LP4Y IS A MEMBER OF THE

JOIN US ON:

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • LinkedIn - White Circle
  • Twitter - Cercle blanc
  • YouTube - Cercle blanc

covid19-lockdown-lp4y.JPG

 Point de 

 situation 

La situation actuelle, inédite et  imprévisible, nous amène, comme le reste du monde, à prendre des mesures exceptionnelles. 

Les Jeunes et leur famille sont les plus affectés par les conséquences de cette crise sanitaire et économique mondiale. Nous avons besoin de vous aujourd'hui pour nous aider à les soutenir.

Après plusieurs semaines de confinement, les 39 structures LP4Y (Life Project Centers à proximité immédiate des zones de grande pauvreté, Green Villages, Little Angels Academies, Youth Hostels, Labs) reprennent petit à petit leurs activités en présentiel.

 

Evidemment la situation étant différente dans les 7 pays d’Asie dans lesquels LP4Y opère, nous adaptons les plans de relance aux spécificités des Jeunes sur place et aux mesures locales prises par les gouvernements.

 

Mais PARTOUT l’objectif est la MOBILISATION. Il est impératif que tous les Jeunes reprennent une activité avec leurs coéquipiers et en présence de leur coach. Plus que jamais il leur faut se préparer à l’avenir et ne pas se contenter de vivre au jour le jour. La plupart des centres ont ainsi établi des « roulements » qui permettent aux Jeunes de venir par petits groupes et en moyenne 5 après-midi par semaine afin de suivre les trainings et d’être accompagnés activement dans leurs recherches d’emploi. Le reste de la formation continue de se faire via des solutions de e-learning.

 

Après plus de deux mois de confinement, les Jeunes doivent revenir sur leurs « Commitments » : tout ce à quoi ils se sont engagés au moment où ils ont intégré l’aventure LP4Y. La rigueur, le professionnalisme, la motivation, la volonté de s’en sortir, autant de voeux qu’ils doivent renouveler aujourd'hui. C’est-à-dire comprendre que s’ils ont été confrontés à des situations très tendues au cours des dernières semaines, auxquelles les Catalystes LP4Y ont remédiées avec eux,  il leur faut à présent reprendre toutes les cartes en mains. C’est à eux de trouver les solutions, à eux d’être pleinement acteurs et en mesure d’identifier et ainsi saisir les opportunités qui se présenteront au sein de cet horizon troublé. 

 

Si le coronavirus a des retombées majeures dans toutes les dimensions de nos existences, c’est avant tout la crispation économique, qui provoquera les défis les plus importants pour les jeunes adultes que nous accompagnons. Là où les mesures de confinements sont encore actives, les entreprises et les commerces n’ouvriront peut-être pas leurs portes avant l’été, et les employeurs seront dans tous les cas frileux à l’embauche. Bref si la crise sanitaire n’est pas encore terminée, la crise économique elle ne fait que commencer. Il est impératif que les Jeunes soutenus et accompagnés par LP4Y puissent mettre toutes les chances de leurs côtés pour affronter le tumulte des mois à venir - accès limité aux produits de première nécessité, très fort taux de chômage, décrochage scolaire, situation sanitaire dangereuse etc.

Ainsi nous menons actuellement un travail de fond afin de faire concorder la réalité des Jeunes, de leur communauté, et du monde de l’entreprise avec celle des semaines, mois et années à venir. Cela implique de repenser un modèle, plus que jamais basé sur l’entreprenariat, avec la mise en place de nouvelles micro-activités économiques qui sauront répondre aux besoins très concrets des communautés au sein desquelles évoluent les Jeunes et leur permettront tout à la fois de se former et d’être les premiers acteurs du changement. A cela est liée la mise en place d’une nouvelle pédagogie, qui sur le modèle de celle déjà en vigueur dans les Green Villages, sera plus courte, plus dense mais aussi plus complète avec des résultats d’intégration plus fort.

 

Parallèlement le déploiement de Digital Inc. continue. Cette semaine nous clôturons la phase de test au cours de laquelle ont été recueillis les retours d’expérience de 38 Jeunes répartis dans 7 pays d’Asie. La phase de déploiement prévoit à présent l’intégration de « e-trainings » au sein même du PTE (Professional Training for Entrepreneurs) dans plusieurs centres pilotes. 

 

Plus que jamais notre mission est de créer des ponts entre le monde décent et celui de l’exclusion ! Il est temps de rebattre les cartes et de permettre à cette jeunesse formidable de prendre sa place. Ensemble mobilisons et préparons les Jeunes, ensemble, cela signifie, main dans la main avec les entreprises, les organisations internationales, les instances gouvernementales, en Europe, en Amérique, en Asie. Partout et tous nous devons rassembler notre énergie et nos forces pour faire face aux nombreux challenges qui s’annoncent. 

 

Mais vous en êtes bien conscients puisque vous avez été si nombreux à nous rejoindre au cours du mois de mai en assistant aux réunions d’information en ligne animées par les équipes LP4Y en Europe. Au total vous avez été près de 300 à vous connecter ! Merci à tous de nous avoir rejoint, merci à tous de suivre les parcours incroyables de tous ces Jeunes.

 

Ensemble, Jeunes, Catalystes, partenaires, entreprenons le changement. 

COMMENT POUVEZ-VOUS AIDER ?

Vous avez été nombreux à manifester l’envie de soutenir notre action. Et grâce aux belles et généreuses initiatives lancés par les équipes LP4Y en France, en Belgique, au Luxembourg, au Royaume-Uni et aux Etats-Unis, nous avons pu commencer à récolter une partie des fonds alloués à la gestion de cette crise (augmentation des indemnités délivrées, augmentation générale des prix, investissement dans les projets LP4Y Digital). Néanmoins la crise n’est pas terminée et surtout il nous faut à présent préparer « l’après ». Or nous savons à quel point les prochains mois seront mouvementés et nos sources de financement habituelles parfois compromises…

Mais surtout nous avons besoin de votre intérêt ! L’inclusion au cœur de notre mission ne s’est jamais limitée à son volet économique. Il s’agit de faire voir, de faire exister ces Jeunes, qui pour certains d’entre eux, n’ont pas même d’existence officielle. Pour sortir de l’exclusion il ne suffit pas de trouver un emploi décent, un Jeune est pleinement inclus le jour où sa parole compte. Alors prenez le temps de lire les témoignages de ces Jeunes dans les LP4Y Stories,  partagez-les et parlez du mouvement LP4Y autour de vous.

 Merci pour votre soutien,

#StrongerTogether

Communications précédentes

Point de situation au 17 mars 2020

Point de situation au 23 mars 2020

Point de situation au 3 avril 2020

Point de situation au 30 avril 2020

Life Project 4 Youth Alliance est une fédération de 19 organisations dans 13 pays dont la mission est le développement de solutions innovantes pour l'inclusion professionnelle et sociale des Jeunes (15-24 ans) issus de l'extrême pauvreté et victimes d'exclusion.

LP4Y soutient l'inclusion décente de milliers de Jeunes et de leurs familles dans 41 programmes, 20 Life Project Centres, 4 Little Angel Academies, 3 Green Villages, 4 Youth hostels, 2 LP4Y Labs en Asie, au Moyen-Orient, en Europe et en Amérique.

LP4Y Alliance

menu

LP4Y est membre du

Rejoignez-nous sur

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • LinkedIn - White Circle
  • Twitter - Cercle blanc
  • YouTube - Cercle blanc