LITTLE ANGELS ACADEMIES 

When the beneficiaries of a program are Young Mothers, Little Angels Academies are set up near the Life Project Centers to look after their children, allowing the mothers to pursue their training without worrying about childcare.

In areas of extreme poverty and exclusion it is very common for women to become pregnant at an early age. There are many reasons for this: lack of information, limited access to health services and infrastructures, sexual violence … Young women often find themselves caring for one or more young children. Family pressure and financial problems mean that they stay at home, stopping school in order to care for their children. Most of them have received no education in child care and recreate the family pattern. Children younger than 4 do not have to go to school, and although school is free for children aged 4 and above, parents have to buy uniforms, books and school supplies. It is therefore very common for Young Mothers to keep children at home, even after the age of 4.

THE LITTLE ANGELS ACADEMIES PROVIDE THE CONDITIONS AND ENVIRONMENT NECESSARY FOR THE CHILDREN’S WELL-BEING AND DEVELOPMENT

They provide a safe environment in which the children can grow, and are properly equipped with a kitchen, bathroom and dormitory.

There is a dedicated team of Little Angels Catalysts: a global LAA coordinator – a coordinator for each LAA – One or more assistants per LAA. In addition, the Young Mothers take it in turns to help out in the LAA.

The Young Mothers, who are learning to be independent, are required to pay to put their children in the Little Angels Academy.

The children are given healthy meals and their parents learn about the importance of a balanced lifestyle.

There are sporting activities every morning, and regular external visits (museums, parks etc).

Each child follows an educational program and receives individual follow-up.

Each child receives a regular medical check-up in a local hospital, and Little Angels Catalysts receive first aid training for children.

Discover the 4 Little Angels Academies

 

 LITTLE ANGELS ACADEMY - TONDO - PHILIPPINES 

In Tondo, the biggest slum in Manila, more than 40 Young Mothers aged 17-24 attend the Life Project Center every day as they prepare their future. Little Angels Academy, which opened 6 years ago, provides child care to about 20 children while their Mothers are at training. Demand is on the rise and the LAA will soon be moving to new, bigger and better premises to offer improved conditions to the growing children.

> Discover the Life Project Center Tondo

MARY MAE BADIANA

Responsibility step, Solareto program

“I’m 19 and I have 2 boys: Florience (2) and Renlex (10 months). I joined Solareto in the Tondo LPC because I want to develop my skills and improve my English. I also want to give a better future to my two children. It is important for us Young Mothers to have a Little Angels Academy close to the Center. I’m really grateful because it allows me to go the LPC and my children are looked after, cared for and taught every day."

 

 LITTLE ANGELS ACADEMY - PAYATAS - PHILIPPINES

The Payatas LPC opened in February 2018 near the rubbish dumps that many families call home, and soon there were about forty Young Women attending the programs, thanks to the creation of a Little Angels Academy in a newly renovated building close to the center.

> Discover the Life Project Center Payatas

RAPHAËLLE CHOEL

Little Angels Academies Coordinator

“We are committed to providing our “Little Angels” with a suitable place where they can grow and learn. Our academies provide teaching, medical and lifestyle support (nutrition, hygiene, sporting activities) as well as art and craft activities. We believe in creating a little corner of paradise, beside the dump sites.

 

 LITTLE ANGELS ACADEMY - CHENNAI - INDIA 

At the Chennai Life Project Center, it quickly became apparent that a Little Angels Academy was needed for the Young Mothers who had no other child care solutions while they were in training. For the time being the Academy is in the LPC, but as soon as possible it will be transferred to a new building specially equipped for the children.

> Discover the Life Project Center Chennai

MUTHULAKSHMI SHANMUGAVEL

Management step, Community Champions of Change program

“My name is Muthulakshmi. I’m 22 years old and I have 2 children, Anish (3) and Ashni (1). I got married at 18. I was a maid, but I had to stop when I became pregnant. Before, I didn’t know how to organize child care, but LP4Y provided a solution for when I’m doing training. I am in Management Step now. When I go to work, I need someone to look after my children. Little Angels Academy will help me. They help me to change my life."

 

 LITTLE ANGELS ACADEMY - KATHMANDU - NEPAL 

As the Jagritinar Life Project Center welcomes only Young Women and Young Mums, a Little Angels Academy was essential. The Young women who join the program generally have one or more children and do not have anyone to take care of them during their absence. Thanks to the Jagritinar Little Angels Academy, Young Mothers can drop off their children in a place that is specially geared towards the healthy development of children, where they enjoy healthy and balanced meals. LAA is managed by a Young Mother, assisted by other Young Women, every day, on a rotation system.

> Discover the Life Project Center Kathmandu

Life Project 4 Youth Alliance is a federation of 19 organizations in 14 countries whose mission is the development of innovative solutions for the professional and social inclusion of Young people (15-24 yo) from extreme poverty and victims of exclusion. 

LP4Y supports the decent inclusion of thousands of Young people and their families in 41 programs, 20 Life Project Centers, 4 Little Angel Academies, 3 Green Villages, 4 Youth hostels, 2 LP4Y Labs in South East Asia, South Asia, Middle East, Europe and America.

LP4Y Alliance

Belgium

Bangladesh

UK

France

India

Indonesia

Lebanon

Luxembourg

Myanmar

Nepal

Philippines

USA

Vietnam

menu

LP4Y IS A MEMBER OF THE

JOIN US ON:

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • LinkedIn - White Circle
  • Twitter - Cercle blanc
  • YouTube - Cercle blanc

LITTLE ANGELS ACADEMIES 

Ces dernières années, LP4Y développe de plus en plus de programmes dont la priorité est d’accompagner les Jeunes mamans victimes d’exclusion et d’extrême pauvreté. Afin de leur permettre de suivre le programme 5 jours par semaine, ces Jeunes mamans ont besoin d’aide pour prendre soin de leurs enfants. Les Little Angels Academies (LAA) se développent aux abords des Life Project Centers.

Dans les zones d’extrême pauvreté et d’exclusion, de nombreuses femmes tombent enceintes très jeunes. Les raisons sont multiples : manque d’information, pas ou peu d’accès aux infrastructures et au système de santé, victimes de violences sexuelles… elles se retrouvent très vite à élever un ou plusieurs enfants. La pression familiale et les difficultés financières les poussent à rester dans leur foyer, et à arrêter leur scolarité pour élever leurs enfants. La plupart d’entre elles n’ont jamais appris comment éduquer un enfant et copient le schéma familial. Les enfants entre 0 et 4 ans ne sont pas obligés d’aller à l’école, et même après l’âge de 4 ans, bien que l’école soit gratuite, les parents doivent financer l’uniforme, les manuels et fournitures scolaires. Il est donc très commun pour ces Jeunes mamans de garder leurs enfants à la maison même après l’âge de 4 ans.

LES LITTLE ANGELS ACADEMIES RASSEMBLENT TOUTES LES CONDITIONS FAVORABLES AU BIEN-ÊTRE ET À L'ÉVEIL DES ENFANTS

Un espace sécurisé avec un équipement adapté pour apporter aux enfants les meilleures conditions pour leurs développement (cuisine, salle de bain, salle de sieste...).

Une équipe dédiée de Little Angels Catalysts : une coordinatrice des LAA global, une coordinatrice pour chaque LAA, un ou des assistant(s) maternelle.

De plus, à tour de rôle, des Jeunes du programme viennent chaque jour en soutien de l'équipe de la LAA.

Pour responsabilier les Jeunes mamans, une indemnité leur est demandé lorsqu'elles déposent leurs enfants à la Little Angels Academy.

Une alimentation saine et variée est donnée aux enfants, et leurs parents sont aussi sensibilisés à l'importance d'un mode de vie équilibré.

Des exercices sportifs ont lieu tous les matins, et des activités intérieures et extérieures (musée, parc...) sont proposées chaque jour.

Chaque enfant suit un programme éducatif et bénéficie d'un suivi personnalisé.

Chaque enfant reçoit un check-up régulier dans un centre hospitalier local, et chaque Little Angels Catalyst suit au préalable une formation d'aide aux premiers secours ciblée pour les enfants en bas âge.

CHENNAI

 LITTLE ANGELS ACADEMY - TONDO - PHILIPPINES 

 

À Tondo, le plus large bidonville de la capitale philippine, plus de 40 Jeunes mères de 17 à 24 ans se rendent chaque jour au Life Project Center pour préparer leur avenir. La Little Angels Academy, ouverte depuis 6 ans, accueille une vingtaine d'enfants pendant les heures de training. La demande est grandissante et la LAA a récemment déménagé dans un endroit plus grand et adapté, afin que les enfants grandissent dans les meilleures conditions.

« J'ai 19 ans et suis la mère de 2 petits garçons, Florience (2 ans) et Renlex (10 mois). J'ai rejoint le programme Solareto dans le Life Project Center de Tondo car je souhaite développer mes compétences et améliorer mon anglais. Je veux aussi donner un meilleur avenir à mes deux enfants. Il est important pour nous, toutes les jeunes mères, d'avoir une Little Angels Academy près du centre. Je suis très reconnaissante parce que cela m'aide à aller au LPC et que mes enfants sont pris en charge, soignés et éduqués tous les jours. »

Etape Responsibility du programme Solareto

MARY MAE BADIANA

 LITTLE ANGELS ACADEMY - PAYATAS - PHILIPPINES 

 

Inauguré en Février 2018, le Life Project Center de Payatas a rapidement pu accueillir une quarantaine de Jeunes femmes grâce à l'ouverture d'une Little Angels Academy dans un bâtiment entièrement rénové à proximité du Life Project Center, qui se situe aux abords des nombreuses déchèteries autour desquelles les mères élèvent leurs enfants.

« Nous avons à cœur d'offrir à nos "Little Angels" un lieu d'épanouissement et d'éducation à la hauteur de ce qu'ils méritent. Contenu pédagogique, suivi médical, hygiène de vie (alimentaire, sanitaire et sportive) et loisirs créatifs font partie de ce que nous proposons au sein de nos académies. Offrir un petit coin de paradis aux abords des décharges, telle est notre mission et notre fidèle engagement. »

Coordinatrice des Little Angels Academies

RAPHAËLLE CHOEL

 LITTLE ANGELS ACADEMY - CHENNAI - INDIA 

 

Au sein du Life Project Center de Chennai, avoir une Little Angels Academy a rapidement été une nécessité pour les Jeunes mamans en manque de solution pour faire garder leurs enfants pendant les heures de formation. Actuellement située dans le LPC, la LAA va être prochainement déménagée dans un nouveau bâtiment plus spacieux afin de garantir les conditions optimales pour le bien-être des enfants.

« Je m'appelle Muthulakshmi. J'ai 22 ans et 2 enfants: Anish (3 ans) et Ashni (1 an). Je me suis mariée à 18 ans. J'étais femme de ménage mais j'ai dû arrêter quand je suis tombée enceinte. Avant, je ne savais pas comment faire garder mes enfants, mais LP4Y m'aide à prendre soin d'eux pendant les trainings. Je suis en Management Step à présent. Quand j'irai au travail, j'ai besoin de quelqu'un pour s'occuper de mes bébés. La Little Angels Academy m'aidera. Elle contribue à changer ma vie. »

Etape Management du programme Community Champions of Change

MUTHULAKSHMI SHANMUGAVEL

 LITTLE ANGELS ACADEMY - KATHMANDU - NÉPAL 

 

Comme le Life Project Center Jagritinar accueillent uniquement des Jeunes femmes et Jeunes mamans, le développement d'une Little Angels Academy était indispensable. Les Jeunes femmes qui rejoignent le programme sont dans la plupart des cas mamans d'un ou plusieurs enfants et n'ont pas la chance d'avoir une personne de leur entourage pour prendre soin d'eux pendant leur absence. Grâce à la Little Angels Academy Jagritinar, les Jeunes mamans peuvent déposer leurs enfants qui bénéficient d'un espace propice à l'éveil et au bon développement des enfants, un endroit propre, où les enfants profitent de repas sains et équilibrés. La LAA est gérée par une Jeune maman, aidée par d'autres Jeunes femmes, chaque jour, sur un système de rotation.