CLOSED CENTERS
 VIETNAM & INDIA
 

Vietnam map2.png

After a mission lasting 7 years, and more than 300 Youth supported, LP4Y decided in March 2020 to terminate its activities in Vietnam. New projects encountered administrative difficulties, and the main cities closed down slums, scattering the poorest populations. Economic growth has led to a reduction in extreme poverty and Youth find it easier to make a living. Teams have been reassigned to other countries, to the excluded communities in greatest need.

+300

Youth accompanied

153 

Following the gentrification of the district and the enrichment of its population, the teams accompanied the remaining Youth until the end of their program and left the district of Hossenpur. The Stars of the center, like those of the former center of Chetla, continue to count on the support of the coaches of TDC Howrah and to be actors of the LP4Y ecosystem in Kolkata.

INDIA KOLKATA.png
Youth accompanied
 

NGOC HA - HANOÏ    

The Young women at the Life Project Center Ngoc Ha come from ethnic minorities in the provinces to the north of Hanoi. Far from their families and particularly vulnerable to trafficking and hardship, they live in one of the two LP4Y Youth Hostels. About 100 Youth have been supported since 2015. 25 Young women inaugurated the Bread & Smiles Café in June 2019 and successfully managed the catering and delivery service of quality pastries, dishes and desserts. The center closed in 2020.

bui-thi-tu-youth-bread-and-smiles-hanoi

BUI THI TU

Responsibility Step, Bread & Smiles

“Before joining LP4Y, I went to high school but I could not go to university because I was living alone and had no money. When I left to come to Hanoi, I was hoping to find a place to help me achieve my dream. I found LP4Y that is my motivation, my rainbow and my magical door. There, I am learning things I never knew before and how to succeed. I now understand that I have eyes to see, ears to listen, hands to do everything, and feet to go. Moreover, I feel the sympathy and love of the other girls with who I live. We come from everywhere but we treat each other like sisters and share joys and sorrows. We all have dream to escape from poverty and to become useful people. I believe I will become tour guide and that everyone in LP4Y will achieve their dream. Everything is difficult at first but if you really believe in yourself and do your best, you will succeed.”

 

 GO VAP - HO CHI MINH 

2019 was a good year for the Life Project Center Go Vap. The Youth in the Revival program have successfully developed their activity, making furniture and objects out of recycled materials. A new program was created, dedicated to supporting the hearing impaired. These Youth are socially excluded, and have no professional opportunities. In their management of Bread & Smiles - making and selling breads and pastries, they interact with the outside world, learn to assert themselves, become independent and acquire key skills for finding decent work. Almost all the Youth have completed internships in various sectors, which is an essential step in their integration. The center closed in 2020.

Thien-Nguyen-Minh-testimony-vietnam.JPG

THIEN NGUYEN MINH

 Star of LPC Go Vap, Sport Advisor at Decathlon , Ho Chi Minh

“I was born in a poor place in the countryside of Vietnam. Joining LP4Y helped me to improve my English, IT and communication skills. It gave me a better professional posture and a team spirit. Now, I work as a sport advisor at Decathlon. I learn how to sell products, to discuss and give the best advice to the customers. Decathlon is one of the biggest retailer sport companies in the world and with over 80,000 employees. I am very proud to be part of it.”

 LIFE PROJECT CENTER - HOSSENPUR - KOLKATA 

Hossenpur, in the South-East, has become gentrified and the Youth come from far away to develop their skills within the 2 programs: Tomorrow’s Food School and RIDE (Responsible and Innovative Driving Education). It is therefore likely that the Life Project Center will be moved to Taratala in 2020. Taratala is a former industrial area with 100,000 inhabitants, more than 25% of whom are excluded Young adults living in extreme poverty.The center closed in 2020.

 
Amit-mondal-youth-lp4y-kolkata-india.jpg

AMIT MONDAL

Management Step, R.I.D.E

“I am following LP4Y training since May 2018. During Responsibility Step, my coach encouraged me to find an internship. After a successful interview, I did an internship of two weeks in the Food & Beverage Department of IBIS Hotel in Kolkata. At first, it was very difficult because I was working 10 hours a day without sitting and they gave me a lot of tasks. Then I learnt a lot of things on food service for business guests and also on hierarchy and professional discipline. I felt like I had a real job. Now I feel more confident and I have more knowledge. It will help me to apply my skills in my future job. Doing a discovery internship is very useful.”

20.5 x 20 cm (2) 2 pieces.JPG
 

 LIFE PROJECT CENTER - CHETLA - KOLKATA 

Chetla, Kolkata, is a neighborhood of contrasts: a single street can separate a vast slum from a middle class residential area. The center which operated out of an old traditional house, was home to the Toto Café and Toto cleaning programs, and offered a kitchen, training rooms, and living quarters for the staff. Most of the Youth came from the neighboring slums, such as New Alipore to the south-west. The Chetla LPC partnered with the Cambridge Academy Open School which offered math, Hindi and English coaching to the Youth. At the LPC they prepared food for sale at the Toto Café, as well as at the Alliance Française du Bengale where the Youth went three times a week. The center closed in 2018.

IMG_3146.JPG

Anand mallick

Responsibility Step, Toto²

“My name is Anand Mallick, I am 21. I live in Kalighat and I like practicing Martial Arts. I have dropped out of school because I didn’t have enough money to keep going. A friend of mine, Krishna, talked to me about LP4Y and I joined the program on April 19th 2017. My dream job is to become a car repairer. At LP4Y, I have english and computer training. Also, I learn to serve the customers and how to cook. Now, every week, I manage the cafe at the French Alliance of Bengal. It’s a very good professional experience.”

DISCOVER THE LIFE PROJECT CENTERS IN THE OTHER COUNTRIES

centres clôturés
 VIETNAM & INDE
 

Vietnam map2.png

Après 7 ans de mission et plus de 300 Jeunes accompagnés, il est décidé en mars 2020 de mettre fin aux activités LP4Y au Vietnam. Les difficultés administratives pesaient sur les nouveaux projets et les villes principales ont éliminé les bidonvilles, dispersant les populations les plus pauvres. La croissance économique a permis une baisse de l’extrême pauvreté et les Jeunes ont plus de facilité à gagner leur vie. Les équipes sont réaffectées dans d’autres pays, auprès des communautés les plus exclues.

+300

Jeunes accompagnés

153 

Suite à la gentrification du quartier et à l’enrichissement de sa population, les équipes ont accompagné les derniers Jeunes jusqu’à la fin de leur programme et ont quitté le quartier d’Hossenpur. Les Stars du centre, tout comme celles de l’ancien centre de Chetla, continuent de compter sur le soutien des coaches du TDC Howrah et d’être acteurs de l’écosystème LP4Y à Kolkata.

INDIA KOLKATA.png
Jeunes accompagnés
 

NGOC HA - HANOÏ    

Les Jeunes femmes qui étaient accompagnées au sein du Life Project Center Ngoc Ha étaient issues de minorités ethniques des provinces du nord de Hanoï. Loin de leur famille et particulièrement vulnérables aux trafics et à la précarité, elles logeaient dans l’un des deux Youth Hostels LP4Y. Depuis 2015, environ 100 Jeunes ont été accompagnés. 25 Jeunes femmes ont inauguré le Bread & Smiles Café en juin 2019 et ont géré avec brio le service de restauration et de livraison de pains, plats et desserts de qualité. Elles ont regagné leur dignité, repris confiance en leur potentiel et sont devenues petit à petit de vraies valeurs ajoutées pour les entreprises locales et internationales en pleine croissance. Le centre a fermé en 2020.

bui-thi-tu-youth-bread-and-smiles-hanoi

BUI THI TU

Étape Responsibility du programme Bread & Smiles

« Avant de rejoindre LP4Y, je suis allée au lycée mais je n’ai pas pu aller à l’université car je vivais seule et je n’avais pas d’argent. Quand je suis arrivée à Hanoï, j’espérais trouver un endroit pour m’aider à réaliser mon rêve. J’ai trouvé LP4Y. Ici, j’apprends des choses que je ne connaissais pas et comment réussir. Maintenant je comprends que j’ai des yeux pour voir, des oreilles pour entendre, des mains pour tout faire et des pieds pour avancer. Avec les autres filles avec qui j’habite, nous venons de partout mais nous nous considérons comme des soeurs et nous partageons nos joies et nos peines. Nous rêvons toutes de sortir de la pauvreté. Je veux devenir guide touristique. Tout est difficile au début mais si tu crois vraiment en toi et que tu donnes ton meilleur, tu y arriveras. »

 

 GO VAP - HO CHI MINH 

L’année 2019 a été fructueuse pour le Life Project Center de Go Vap. Les Jeunes du programme Revival ont développé avec succès l’activité de fabrication de meubles et objets à base de matériaux recyclés. Un nouveau programme dédié à l’accompagnement de malentendants et muets a été créé. Au Vietnam, peu d’initiatives sont lancées concernant la problématique des sourds et muets. Pour les plus exclus et pauvres, n’ayant pas les moyens de financer une école privée, ils se retrouvent complètement isolés socialement et professionnellement. HO CHI MINH : Grâce à la gestion de Bread & Smiles - production et vente de pains et pâtisseries, ils ont pu interagir avec le monde extérieur, s’affirmer, devenir autonomes et acquérir des compétences clés pour intégrer un travail décent. Presque tous les Jeunes ont réalisé un stage dans des secteurs variés, étape essentielle à leur insertion. Les Jeunes ont pu compter sur le soutien de différentes entreprises et organisations partenaires, notamment à travers le Youth Inclusion Network qui s'est développé au Vietnam. Le centre a fermé en 2020.

Thien-Nguyen-Minh-testimony-vietnam.JPG

THIEN NGUYEN MINH

 Star du LPC Go Vap, Conseiller sportif chez Decathlon 

« Je viens de la campagne pauvre du Vietnam. Rejoindre LP4Y m’a permis d’améliorer mon anglais, mes compétences en informatique et en communication. Cela m’a donné une meilleure posture professionnelle et un esprit d’équipe. Maintenant, je travaille comme conseiller sportif au sein de Decathlon. J’apprends à vendre des produits, écouter et donner les meilleurs conseils aux clients. Decathlon est un des plus grands distributeurs sportifs au monde avec plus de 80 000 employés, et je suis fier d’en faire partie. »

HOSSENPUR - KOLKATA 

À Calcutta, 3 500 bidonvilles enregistrés ou non par le gouvernement bordent la ville. Les Jeunes du Life Project Center d’Hossenpur vivaient sur les berges d’un canal insalubre, dans un site de relocation surpeuplé ou dans les cabanes de leurs parents fermiers, trois quartiers excentrés au Sud-Est de Calcutta.  Le centre d’Hossenpur a été pionnier dans la gestion de programmes de sensibilisation qui profitent à la communauté locale et font des Jeunes des orateurs engagés et audacieux. Les Jeunes ont développé leurs compétences au sein des 2 programmes Tomorrow’s Food School et RIDE (Responsible and Innovative Driving Education). La pédagogie LP4Y intéresse de nombreux partenaires locaux et le réseau alumni s’implique de plus en plus pour transmettre les nouveautés du marché du travail. Un écosystème d’intégration qui fonctionne bien. Suite à la gentrification du quartier et à l’enrichissement de sa population, les équipes ont accompagné les derniers Jeunes jusqu’à la fin de leur programme et ont quitté le quartier d’Hossenpur. Les Stars du centre, tout comme celles de l’ancien centre de Chetla, continuent de compter sur le soutien des coaches du TDC Howrah et d’être acteurs de l’écosystème LP4Y à Kolkata. Le centre a fermé en 2020.

 
Amit-mondal-youth-lp4y-kolkata-india.jpg

AMIT MONDAL

Étape Management du programme R.I.D.E

« Je suis le programme LP4Y depuis mai 2018. Lorsque je suis passé à l’étape Responsibility, mon coach m’a encouragé à faire un stage en entreprise. Après un entretien réussi, j’ai été choisi pour suivre un stage de deux semaines dans le département Restauration de l’hôtel IBIS de Calcutta. Au début, c’était difficile car je travaillais 10 heures par jour sans m’asseoir et mes managers me donnaient beaucoup de missions. Mais cela m’a permis d’apprendre beaucoup de choses sur la gestion d’un service professionnel de restauration, l’organisation d’une entreprise et la posture professionnelle. Maintenant j’ai plus confiance en moi. Cette expérience m’aidera pour trouver un prochain emploi. Faire un stage en entreprise est une réelle opportunité. »

20.5 x 20 cm (2) 2 pieces.JPG
 

CHETLA - CALCUTTA 

Chetla est un quartier de Calcutta plein d’inégalités : on y trouve une alternance de zones de bidonvilles et de zones résidentielles pour les classes moyennes.

Dans une vieille maison traditionnelle au centre, on y trouvait le Toto Café, Toto Catering, une cuisine, des salles de formation et un lieu de vie pour le staff. La majorité des Jeunes venaient des bidonvilles environnants, comme celui de New Alipore au sud-ouest. Le Life Project Center de Chetla était en partenariat avec l’Open School de la Cambridge Academy où les Jeunes étaient formés en maths, en hindi et anglais. Les équipes préparaient les produits vendus au Toto Café ainsi qu’au Café de l’Alliance Française du Bengale. Le centre a fermé en 2018.

IMG_3146.JPG

Anand mallick

Étape Responsibility du programme Toto²

« Je m’appelle Anand Mallick, j’ai 21 ans. J’habite à Kalighat et j’aime bien faire des arts martiaux. J’ai arrêté l’école parce que je n’avais pas assez d’argent pour continuer ma scolarisation. Krishna, un ami, m’a parlé de LP4Y et j’ai rejoint le programme le 19 avril 2017. Mon rêve est de devenir réparateur de voitures. À LP4Y, j’apprends à parler anglais et à utiliser un ordinateur. J’apprends aussi à servir les clients et à cuisiner. Maintenant, chaque semaine, je gère le café à l’Alliance française du Bengale. C’est une très bonne expérience professionnelle.»

DÉCOUVRIR LES LIFE PROJECT CENTERS DANS LES AUTRES PAYS :